Close this search box.

2020 Sandy Brown Award to TAP

Open Door Pride has awarded Third Avenue Playhouse it’s annual Sandy Brown Award, which is given out to a person or organization who exemplifies the mission of Open Door Pride. “Celebrating our diversity with inclusion for all.” The award is named after Sandy Brown who began the first PFLAG chapter in Sturgeon Bay in the 90’s.  She has tirelessly brought awareness to LGBTQIA+ rights in Door County. 

Each year Open Door Pride invites a local artist to design the award. This year’s award was created by Ellison Bay Pottery studios and gallery. Designer and artist is John Dietrich and studio manager Diane McNeil. 

2018, Popelka Trenchard Glass designed the award for Open Door Pride’s first recipient Sandy Brown.

Third Avenue Playhouse has included LGBTQ+ playwrights, stage readings and plays into its programming for years. The benefits are vast within a Community when through the beauty and safety of theatre, LGBTQIA+ lives are presented. 

Images by Ty Helbach Photography